Prepare for your surgery

Aaron C
7 min readMay 6, 2022

If you are a candidate for jaw surgery, read this.

I had double jaw surgery and genioplasty done on January 6th.

Day 113

We’re now working with my orthodontist to complete the process of fixing my bite and I will see my surgeon every few weeks for checkups.

For those heading into surgery, or those embarking on their journey this post should help you in preparation for it all.

Learn from my experience. I hope you will feel less alone, more prepared, and more confident heading into your surgery date.

Pre-op Considerations:

  1. Speak with your surgeon about the expected outcome, and make sure it aligns with your aesthetic and medical hopes.
  2. Dot your i’s and cross your t’s with the insurance company (and benefits department at your job) before your surgery so that you don’t need to worry about it during your recovery.
  3. List out your constraints and support system that you will rely on post-op. This will let you think through what you are missing, and expose the flaws in your current plan.
  4. Stop consuming food 8 hours before the surgery time, and water 6 hours before. I completely stopped consuming food and water 10 hours before.

--

--